Skip to content

Jobs at Risk: China beating U.S. in renewable energy race

October 12, 2010

 

 

Thousands upon thousands of potential jobs are at risk in the U.S. because we have fallen behind China in manufacturing and develop of renewable energy. Think about it? Who wants to invest in Number 2?

China is now the best place to invest in renewable energy, according to accounting firm Ernst and Young, who announced earlier this month that the U.S. has been bumped to the number 2 spot.

China manufactures more wind turbines and solar panels than the U.S. and they are catching up to us in the percentage of energy produced from renewables. And it’s not just the Chinese government or banks that are investing. Western investors are lining up to get a piece of the potential profits forcast in the renewables market in China. In fact, China’s renewable energy market currently has $35 billion in outside investments, compared to $19 billion in U.S. companies.

It’s time for the U.S. to ramp up our investments in clean, renewable energy.

Google just announced it is partially financing a 6000 megawatt wind farm off the mid-Atlantic coast. Construction will begin in 2013 and will be the first off-shore wind farm in the United States.  China recently completed its first off-shore wind farm off the coast of Shanghai.

We cannot afford to let China get too ahead of us in this game.  If we want to create thousands of desperately needed jobs and truly wean ourselves off dirty, destructive energy sources like coal and natural gas, we must be aggressive in our investments in the U.S. renewable energy industry.

C’mon, America. Aren’t we supposed to be the best in the world?

Info for this report was taken from CNNMoney.com Click here to read.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. themadjewess permalink
    October 18, 2010 10:54 am

    China is eating us alive with bed bugs too.

    Sorry I acted so insane with you, Rose.

  2. October 18, 2010 6:51 pm

    lol mj, bedbugs from China? Is it a conspiracy?

    girlfriend, I miss ya! how you been?

    you insane? hahaha

    I must tell you I DO NOT like your current profile pic. What are you trying to portray?

  3. themadjewess permalink
    October 18, 2010 8:23 pm

    Im sad. I changed my pic cause Im sad.

    I dont know if it is a conspiracy or what the hell is up with these critters, but it makes me glad that I shop at goodwill.

    There is an epidemic of bed bugs, but I guess since the repubs didnt make up the propaganda like the swine flu…then the bed bugs dont exist.

  4. October 18, 2010 8:35 pm

    mj, i know bedbugs are a big prob these days. Not up here in my little world yet. We are dealing with fleas! I am battling my son and his dog and he is blaming my cats. lol

    are you suffering? can I help?

  5. themadjewess permalink
    October 18, 2010 8:48 pm

    Nah..just something happened that I dont want to talk about- I had a falling out with a major movement that I supported.
    I cant say more than that.

    I hope you dont get these bed bugs. I hope I dont. Just remember, its a NON issue, because the republicans didnt make up the propaganda.

    Remember how they went on and on with the swine flu? BS. This is horrible, the stories I hear EVERYDAY on these damned bed bugs that FAUX news refuses to cover, and they have the most viewers.
    Shame on them.

  6. October 18, 2010 8:52 pm

    damn, mj. I’m so, so sorry. life is complicated…

  7. themadjewess permalink
    October 19, 2010 9:25 am

    Eh, Ill live, just is damned depressing, supporting a movement for 3 years and have them hang me out to dry in front of enemies; ie- neo-nazis, etc.

    I am going to sell some things on ebay 😀 I want to make a few extra $$$.

  8. October 19, 2010 10:01 am

    Good luck with the ebay selling, mj.

    That really sucks that you got stabbed but maybe it’s for the better in the end?

  9. October 19, 2010 10:02 am

    oh, and the new pic is a bit of an improvement, but I hope sometime soon it will show a smiley face. 🙂

  10. themadjewess permalink
    October 19, 2010 9:24 pm

    How do you like this one?
    Better??
    😀

  11. October 19, 2010 11:39 pm

    I like it!

  12. October 19, 2010 11:39 pm

    maybe i should change mine, eh?

  13. themadjewess permalink
    October 20, 2010 7:43 am

    No, makes you look like a mischeveous kid 😀 Which you are a little bit 😉

  14. October 20, 2010 8:10 am

    who me? HAHAHA

  15. October 20, 2010 8:11 am

    actually, I kinda think I look angelic. which I really am. 😉

  16. themadjewess permalink
    October 20, 2010 9:07 pm

    I think a little mischeviousness is cool. Its fun, it adds spice of life.

Leave a Reply

