Skip to content

Washington State Regional Rainbow Gathering 2010 August 24

August 21, 2010
Click here for update on Washington National Rainbow Gathering 2011 plus exclusive Rainbow offer.
Found! Missing Person Alert: Have You Seen This Sister?
 
Friday, August 27, 9 pm: All is well! I went to the Gathering and passed out flyers. Many I talked to had seen her. Shortly after I helped my son dish out a delicious salad at the main circle, two brothers came up to me and said that they saw her and gave her a flyer. One brother told me where she was at. I went and talked to her. She is fine. She didn’t realize people were worried about her. She called her brother and he is very relieved that she is okay.  He emailed me and he and his family are very grateful that she called.
 
Update August 27 9 pm: Found! Melanie Wiseman has been missing since Saturday, August 21, leaving behind her wallet and cell phone. She became seperated from her friends at Hempfest in Seattle. She may be headed to the Rainbow Gathering. Her brother is very anxious to locate her and he would like to get a message to her to contact him. Any info of her whereabouts should be relayed to the contacts below.

 I just saw on the facebook page that she was seen getting on a bus headed for Spokane and the Gathering, so please watch out for her.

Update: Friday, August 27: Still no word on the facebook page that Melanie has been located. Please print or remember her face in these photos and let her know that people are desperate for word of her whereabouts.

 findmel1291@gmail.com to email info on Melanie. Click here for facebook page.

Melanie at Hempfest, Seattle August 2010

Now, back to my blogpost:

Update on the Gathering Friday, August 27 9:15 pm. Things are pretty quiet there. People are hanging out at Montana Mud kitchen, Bus Village, the Trading Circle, and several other camps and kitchens. I went to C.A.L.M and it was, well, calm. I helped serve dinner at main circle. There was more than enough good and healthy food. There was noodle-veggie combo, grains, corn on the cob, salad and probably more. Several kitchens pitched in to provide food for many hungry campers. People were very mellow, hanging in a circle, playing music, laughing, hugging and having a good time. I took some video. I will post later.
It’s strange for a Rainbow Gathering because it’s basically car camping. Many of the “road dogs” have their rigs right at their camps. It’s small enough that you can do that, although driving through the village stirs up the dust. The dust is a problem. Makes for dirty brothers and sisters. But I heard that Montana Mud has a shower hooked up. I didn’t see it.
 
The road is not really well marked. Look for Bartlette Rd. off of Flowery Trail Rd. There is a nice little rock sculpture at the entrance, but no signs saying it goes to the Gathering. If you see Bartlette Rd, you are on the right track. It’s a few miles but you’ll come to the front gate before you know it. If you park there, you’ll have a bit of a walk to get to where things are happening.

Update Friday, August 27: Barrels of good water were delivered to the Gathering, so it sounds like the water situation has improved. My son helped cook food for the main circle yesterday. It sounds like there is food if you know where to find it.

August 27: The Forest Service rep met at a Rainbow counsel meeting and said that a permit needed to be signed by tomorrow. But of course there are no Rainbow “official” reps to sign. The Rainbow Family does not recognize any official reps nor do they have an official set of rules or regulations. But it is a given that the family does not sign contracts or permit applications. There could very well be a confrontation if the two sides can’t come to some sort of non-written agreement.

August 21: Since I get quite a few hits each day on my Rainbow Gathering posts, I am creating this post for anyone interested in attending the local regional Rainbow Gathering here in Northeastern Washington State.

The Gathering is being held between Usk, WA, and Chewelah, WA on Bartlette Rd. starting Tuesday, August 24.

From Spokane it’s easier to get there by way of Usk. Here’s a link to google maps: Click here.

If you want to go to Chewelah first, take the Flowery Trail Rd out of Chewelah for about 15 miles. There should be signs or at least signs of life. There is a sign that says “Bartlette Rd.”

If you are coming from Chewelah, here’s the google map link: Click here.

I haven’t been to the site yet, but my son was there on Wednesday. He is going back soon to set up a kitchen. The site crew is busy setting up water systems and kitchens are already serving food. I don’t have too many details right now. My son is upstairs sleeping, so I’ll add more when he gets his lazy ass outta bed. haha

UPDATE August 25: The water situation is NOT ideal. There is limited water at the site. It is advisable that you bring enough water for your needs, and then some.

Keep a clean camp and listen to the “raps” if someone comes around to share important info to prevent transmitting diseases. If you set up a kitchen, you need to have an adequate wash scene, or don’t bother. Fires are not cool at personal camps. The forest is dry and fires are a real danger.  Ask where the designated fires are when you get there.

Feel free to leave a comment or ask questions. I will try to get an answer, if I cannot.

Click here for my latest post on the regional Rainbow.

37 Comments leave one →
  1. andrea permalink
    August 22, 2010 11:34 am

    Please look up my friend greg in backpackers camp an his buddy nugget the pit pup. I dropped them off on fri aug 20. We had amazing adventure together

  2. August 22, 2010 11:41 am

    cool, andrea. I’ll look for them.

  3. August 22, 2010 8:11 pm

    What time is the rainbow scheduled to appear? lol
    Wished I could go…sounds like fun.

  4. August 23, 2010 9:29 am

    hey lisa! haha my son went over there yesterday in a downpour. Minutes later, the sun was shining. I have NO doubt that a rainbow appeared. I bet there will be more!

    Wish I could take you over there. It is like nothing else. I am going over with my camera, but I’ve been having computer crash problems. None of my editing programs are working. grrr…

  5. August 23, 2010 9:29 am

    hey, nice new avatar!

  6. August 23, 2010 9:37 am

    For those who want an update, my son should be back today. I will pass on any info that will be useful.

    Always make sure your lights work and you have your license and registration and proof of insurance. Don’t drive any rig that isn’t road legal. It’s an invitation to get pulled over. And needless to say, if your rig isn’t legal, don’t be holding anything illegal.

    Otherwise, law enforcement can’t legally pull you over unless you are breaking a law. Pay regard to speed limits and stop signs, etc.

    If the Forest Service law enforcement enter the Gathering, don’t provoke them. If they harass anyone, take video, if you can. At the Wyoming gathering they shot at people after they apprehended a guy who was passing out buds right at Kiddie Village, where kids are fed. (I think he was giving the buds away to the cooks.) I think they used rubber bullets or something like that. The crowd that gathered around the officers was mad. They definitely felt threatened. Unfortunately, I was oblivious to the incident as I was at another area of the Gathering. But youtube let me experience it as if I were there. sweet.

  7. August 23, 2010 1:42 pm

    Wished I could hang out with ya too. I bet everyone will enjoy themselves. Nothing like taking in the natural wonder of God’s creation.

    Thanks for the thumbs up on the new avatar. 🙂

  8. August 23, 2010 1:48 pm

  9. August 23, 2010 2:31 pm

    lisa, thanks for the video. I hope I live to see it come true. so much bad seems to be happening. Will it ever end?

    The Rainbow Gathering is a little shot of love in a big tragic world.

  10. August 23, 2010 2:36 pm

    For those going to the Gathering, my son says they are in need of a together kitchen. I know it’s a tall order, but apparently the kitchens that are set up are not adequate for the numbers of people they expect. They need help.

    There are only two water spigots and they are located near the road! Most of the kitchens are set up in a parking lot, according to my son. It doesn’t sound like it’s set up for a lot of people at all. Hopefully, more people will arrive by the weekend to get it operating smoother.

    I read that the Gathering is lasting until September 7 so it’s longer than a national gathering.

    Always be prepared for all kinds of weather. Heat, cool nights, rain, and of course mostly perfect weather. Enjoy!

  11. August 23, 2010 3:25 pm

    Rose
    When you get time, please check out my latest post. Before passing judgement on the content, please listen to ALL the videos. I’ve done allot of research and this man really pulls it all together on most of my own findings and what I too see before us in the future.

    Enjoy your trip and tuck away those cherished memories.

    http://lisaintx.wordpress.com/2010/08/23/steve-quayle-return-of-the-longwalkers-alien-invasion-and-the-rise-of-the-one-world-government/

  12. August 24, 2010 8:33 am

    It sounds like people should bring a lot of water with them to the Gathering.

    My son told me there is a lice break-out. Um, maybe I won’t be going. haha At least I am keeping my distance. I think I’ll return to my own bed at night as well. I’m phobic when it comes to parasites. Ugh.

  13. August 24, 2010 8:34 am

    lisa, I went to your post, but damn girl. I can’t even begin to take the time to watch all that. Each vid is over 9 mins!

  14. August 24, 2010 9:10 am

    Rose
    Those few videos could have saved me two years of research. Spending quality time on well researched information is really worth the effort honey. The choice is yours to do either way.

  15. August 24, 2010 9:14 am

    LOL—-Lice outbreak or chiggers? Chiggers eat a path up the legs to the groin and man do I hate those nasty beasties!
    Guess either of those are better than the bed-bug outbreak like they have in NY….those must be mutant bed-bugs if spraying the whole house doesn’t kill them!

  16. August 24, 2010 9:46 am

    lisa, I believe it’s lice. I’ve experienced them before. no thanks. And I am phobic about scabies too.

    I have been planning on doing a post about bed bugs. I have been researching it. Such is my phobia. haha But it is an economic issue. Some can’t afford the cost to fumigate. It can easily cost over $1000!

    An alternative is to expose the enclosure to high temps for a period of over 15 minutes. But it is not 100% effective. Bedbugs are resistent to most pesticides. Thus the problem. It’s a growing menace.

  17. August 25, 2010 3:50 pm

    Hey, my sister, melanie wiseman, from webster groves, MO, has been missing since saturday. She was last seen at Hempfest in seattle. She left her pack(Including her wallet and phone) with some friends and never came back. She had been talking about going to this gathering before we lost track of her and if anyone reading this messages is at the gathering or was there and could pass the word along to her that her family is looking for her, we’d really appreciate it, or even just let us know that she has been seen and is safe. The website I listed above is our facebook page to find her and any word or help in getting ahold of her would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

  18. August 25, 2010 3:51 pm

    oops here is our contact info:
    findmel1291@gmail.com

    website
    http://www.facebook.com/pages/Help-Find-Melanie/148875175142195

  19. August 25, 2010 5:46 pm

    Benjamin, we will definitely keep an eye out and spread the word. The best of luck finding her!

  20. August 25, 2010 6:12 pm

    Thank you so much. My phone number is 314.425.9636. If anyone does see her, they or her should feel free to call me.

  21. August 27, 2010 9:11 pm

    Wow, this post has become a bunch of updates on top of updates. Tomorrow I will post a new one with pics of the gathering. Stay tuned.

  22. breeze permalink
    August 28, 2010 8:38 pm

    i just got home from the event it was a good expierience 4 me i met a girl there and if any1 is goin out there can they please give her my number i dindnt get a chance 2 see her b4 i left her name is sur rah my number is 208 220 4870 thanx

  23. breeze permalink
    August 28, 2010 8:39 pm

    i forgot 2 put that i had talked 2 her and she said shes really into bikes and said she mite want 2 stay with me at the bike shop 4 awhile

  24. cindy and janeen permalink
    August 29, 2010 6:37 pm

    can’t wait heading up next weekend, love and peace to all…..

  25. August 29, 2010 8:57 pm

    have fun sisters!

  26. August 29, 2010 9:19 pm

    When is the Rainbow gathering over”” Is it the 7th Sept?

  27. August 30, 2010 5:22 am

    Semaj, yes. As far as I know Sept 7 is the last day. But of course there will be Rainbows staying behind to clean up. I’m sure they will be there for some time after the 7th.
    Enjoy!

  28. September 1, 2010 4:27 pm

    my partner and i are looking for a ride from seattle to spokane and/or back from spokane to seattle. looking to leave seattle immediately for the gathering and back from spokane on or after the 7th. please let me know if you can assist.

  29. Kathleen Meindel permalink
    September 2, 2010 8:19 am

    My daughter Alissa Dorow was headed to a Rainbow gathering somewhere in Washington and has not been heard from since August 25th. It is very unusual for her to wait this long to contact me and I suspect she might be in danger. She is approximately 5 ft1 and 135 pounds. She has light brown hair which she typically has dyed red. Her skin is fair and she has hazel eyes.
    If anyone has seen her or knows of her whereabouts, please contact me immediately as we are all very worried about her.
    Thank you.
    -Kathleen Meindel

  30. September 2, 2010 8:29 am

    Kathleen, do you have a picture?

    don’t worry. The Gathering started about August 25 and she is probably having too much fun to contact you. The Gathering goes until Sept 7. She might not have access to a cell phone. I bet you will hear from her soon.

  31. Nancy permalink
    September 3, 2010 8:41 pm

    Just wondered if you could say Hi and Love you to my son Jake (Diplomat) the one who’s playing the guitar and singing in the video. His family in MN really misses him. Oh and greet Christine who sings with him too! thanks!

  32. rosehips permalink*
    September 6, 2010 7:57 am

    Nancy, that is your son? Wow. He plays so good! Very cool….

    My son is in the video too, although only briefly. (I scanned briefly and got him in the vid. He’s got a green flourescent cap, dreads, nose ring…I know, don’t they all? haha)

    My son gave me grief for taking this vid because some rainbows are wanted or don’t want to be found. But I didn’t think I was doing much harm.

    I don’t think I will go back to the Gathering unless it is to help my son pack up. If I see your son, I will definitely send him your regards and Christine too! Thanks for your comment!

  33. Alabama jack formerly of alabama. permalink
    November 19, 2010 11:12 am

    Im looking for some info.on little hawk.he was sick last time i talked to him.if anyone knows who im talking about,and knows how he is you can contact me by my wifes facebook page marlaine quillin.

  34. December 29, 2012 7:13 pm

    And how does that mean? I do not understand anything.

Trackbacks

  1. Washington Regional Rainbow Gathering 2010 Colville National Forest « Tons_of_wash's Spin-cycle
  2. 2010 in review « Tons_of_wash's Spin-cycle

Leave a Reply

