Skip to content

Racist graffiti causes Asian couple to flee back to California

August 18, 2010

this pic is not of Worley ID graffiti. I took it off the web.

Wow. I haven’t even finished my morning paper and I have to post this story from Worley, ID, near where I live. A local Asian restaurant owner-couple are moving out of town immediately after racist graffiti was spray-painted on their establishment. Northern Idaho is a haven for neo-nazis and local communities have worked hard to discourage this sort of blatant intolerance. But it’s hard to stamp out hate. It’s hereditary.

From the Spokesman Review:

“Racist vandalism reported at drive-in
A Worley restaurant was closed last week after racist graffiti was spray-painted on it, apparently targeting the owner, who is Asian.

Owner Peter Ohm arrived at the Homestead Drive-In last Wednesday to find racist phrases sprayed on the building, he said.

Coeur d’Alene tribal police investigated the crime and referred it to the Kootenai County Sheriff’s Office, according to the tribe’s spokesman, Marc Stewart. Police have not identified any suspects, Stewart said. Sheriff’s Office spokesman Maj. Ben Wolfinger said the department hadn’t received the report yet.

Ohm said he and his wife, Star, closed the restaurant on the day they discovered the vandalism and will move back to California this weekend.”

The photo above was not with the news item. I took the pic off the web.

Click here for news article from Spokesman Review

19 Comments leave one →
  1. August 18, 2010 7:00 am

    And I am not saying this is the work of neo-nazis. There could be other racist sentiments and friction. Worley apparently is located on the rez and has almost 30% Native American. There are few other minorities with less than 3% Hispanic and other minorites make up less than 1%. Regardless, racism still has an ugly foothold in Northern Idaho.

  2. August 18, 2010 12:31 pm

    What language was it written in I wonder? And WHO did they piss off maybe? Moving is not the answer….I’d paint over it and stay, unless I received LIFE threats, then maybe I’d set me a nice trap for those doing this…lol—most likely BORED teens or a rival gang affiliation.

  3. August 18, 2010 1:29 pm

    Well, lisa, they didn’t say but I’m assuming it was in english. Not sure what nationality the owners were. In a place like that, Chinese would be popular I would think. There are more and more Vietnamese and Thai restaurants in the Spokane area, but I don’t think I’ve ever been to Worley. I may go down there to see the place. It’s got me curious.

    It’s cooking again today. Mid 90’s. I think I’ll head for the water. Hope things have cooled down a bit in your neck of the woods.

  4. Idahoman permalink
    March 3, 2011 3:58 pm

    This graffiti was done by the owner himself. He was mad at the natives for not coming to his resaurant. I live in the town. He was out in the street throwing bricks at the tribal police cruisers. They are fleeing to california to escape any police charges. And by the way… they are korean

  5. March 6, 2011 10:21 am

    interesting idahoman

  6. Peter Ohm permalink
    May 17, 2011 3:45 pm

    This is Peter and no I did not do this myself. Idahoman is probably the punk who did this. Fleeing Cali to avoid charges is pretty funny you retarded country bumpkin. I am here now in Cali so Kersey Miller pplease come and visit me here. By the way Kersey Miller, Kenna Miller and some other hillbillies which I forgot their inbredded names.

  7. Peter Ohm permalink
    May 17, 2011 3:47 pm

    I was in a rush, what I meant to say was that the Miller Inbredded twins where the ones who vandalized the place. We have it on camera and the police will prosecute in due time.

  8. Peter Ohm permalink
    May 17, 2011 3:49 pm

    Last thing……being in a big city I am shocked how you country folk live. I mean the indians and others run around having sex with relatives and doing a boat load of drugs. I mean we should have opened a drug store with the amount of lost loser souls in town.

    Worley is such a backwards hill billy town.

  9. May 17, 2011 3:54 pm

    Peter, Peter, Peter…sounds like there were some personal issues going on there and lots of racial tension? Sorry to hear there is still so much intolerance. Yes we country bumpkins live differently (I am from NY originally) but we like it here. Some of us have NO tolerance for racism against anyone.

    btw, where did you get the name Ohm? That is not Korean, is it? I ask because my mom’s maiden name is Ohm.

  10. May 17, 2011 3:56 pm

    Perhaps if you had waited around you coulda opened a dispensary. I hear Idaho is considering a medical marijuana law. :0

  11. Peter Ohm permalink
    May 17, 2011 6:16 pm

    To the owner of this web page. If this article and message is not removed, then I will sue the web master for libel. This F’ing incident is in my rear view and I need this crap removed. Idahoman is making a very serious accusation, in which he said I was flinging bricks at police and that I vandalized my own restaurant.

  12. Peter Ohm permalink
    May 17, 2011 6:18 pm

    Oh rosehips, you own this site. Shut this fucking article down or I’ll see you in court.

  13. May 17, 2011 7:56 pm

    Peter, you should let it go. This post has almost zero traffic. It’s old. It’s old news.

    As a general rule, I don’t censor my blog. See you in court.

  14. May 17, 2011 7:59 pm

    And your threatening nature makes me less inclined to respond to you at all. Just so you know.
    And I’m not convinced that you are Peter Ohm either, just so you know.

  15. May 17, 2011 8:00 pm

    Well, if you want a witness, I can attest to the post. And to yours as well.

  16. Peter Ohm permalink
    May 18, 2011 6:01 am

    OK, have it your way.

  17. Peter Ohm permalink
    May 18, 2011 6:03 am

    Not convinced that this is Peter Ohm. I will mail you my birth certificate. Give me your address.

  18. May 18, 2011 6:09 am

    Here you go. I’m including my phone #. Give me a call!

    FBI Seattle
    1110 Third Avenue
    Seattle, WA 98101-2904
    seattle.fbi.gov
    (206) 622-0460

  19. May 18, 2011 6:11 am

    And fyi, I am doing nothing illegal. This is an open forum. I posted this article to condemn racism.

    It appears that there may be more than race at the heart of this conflict, but perhaps not.

Leave a Reply

