Skip to content

Health Issues of Gulf Spill Workers Mirror Exxon Valdez Workers

June 4, 2010

Merle Savage in 1993 (Photo courtesy of Silence in the Sound via Pro Publica)

Well, I’ve been a bit silent lately as the oil spill tragedy continues to unfold. I am very sensitive to environmental and social disasters and it tears me apart that workers are being exposed to toxic chemicals without proper protection.

Workers are being hospitalized with symtoms that Exxon Valdez workers experienced! How can BP spokespersons or anyone else deny that these workers are experiencing symtoms related to exposure to crude oil? The audacity!!!!

Pro Publica just came out with an expose of an Exxon Valdez worker who labored to help clean up the mess in Prince William Sound. She is now 74 years old and regrets taking part. I personally have felt a pull to help the clean-up effort but I just can’t because of my knowledge of the health problems experienced up there in Alaska. I have a friend who was a fisherman in Prince William Sound and also helped clean up the mess. He was recently diagnosed with COPD, a debilitating lung disease. It is not uncommon among Exxon Valdez clean-up workers.

I heard that BP has a gag order on anyone they hire for clean up. No wonder. What corporation wants sick workers telling the press about the lack of protection and the denial of health risks? 

Click here for the following expose by Marian Wang of Pro Publica:

Former Valdez Cleanup Worker Warns of Toxic Dangers in the Gulf

by Marian Wang, ProPublica – June 4, 2010 10:40 am EDT

11 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2010 12:43 pm

    Hey Rosie!!
    Yep, it will be a big mess for many many years….just what BP ordered IMO!!
    I heard they are owned by, you guessed it!!! Rothchilds…..amazing how that little nest of vipers keeps popping up in the most HIGHEST of places and thru some of the most terrible disasters,, even selling off stock BEFORE this latest, just as if they KNEW something was gonna happen?? Just like the twin towers, plus the one NOT stuck by a plane….those explosives were set well in advanced to bring down those buildings….
    Guess we are just peasants as we are always on the outside of the loop—than the good Lord for that.

  2. redeemedhippiesplace permalink
    June 4, 2010 2:02 pm

    I hate it too, rosehips. I can’t atand it.

    So Rothchilds are involoved? LisaInTx, may I ask where you got your info. Nothing would surprise me anymore.

    I believe this was set up from the beginning. Don’t ask me how or by who. I just don’t know. There is just something about it. I heard this: That BP did not want to drill out that far (It is so deep a submarine can not even get down there) I heard they did not want to go that deep, but they were made to.

    And there is no telling hiw many people are gonna get sick! I heard they are spraying stuff or either are going to. WHAT IS THAT going to do to the people down there?!

    Oh but what do I know? I’m just a conspiracy nut who trusts no one! Especially government!

  3. June 4, 2010 3:48 pm

    hippie, yes they have sprayed a dispersent that may be more toxic than the oil itself. Nature is doomed. BP may have wanted to go shallower or closer to shore, but then what if they had an accident? It would be closer to shore. They may have an easier time of capping it, but is that really the answer? Not in my opinion. The answer is to cut consumption of energy by 50% and ramp up development of alternatives.

    I realize that reducing consumption can hurt the economy but the economy needs to adjust. We can use our resources wisely and still prosper but perhaps not so obscenely.

  4. June 4, 2010 4:01 pm

    and lisa, great to hear from you! Dig deep girl. You’ll find all sorts of crud.

  5. June 6, 2010 8:53 pm

    Hey Rose—Check this article out!!! I was just forwarded the link!!! OMG!!!!! if it is true!

    http://www.eutimes.net/2010/05/us-orders-blackout-over-north-korean-torpedoing-of-gulf-of-mexico-oil-rig/

  6. June 7, 2010 6:28 am

    lisa, I checked out this link and the website. I gots to tell you that at first blush this publication has about as much creds as its sister site WND. I don’t know if they are related, but there is a link to WND on the site. I am not saying its not true, but this article was from May 1. Where’s the follow-up?

  7. June 7, 2010 6:30 am

    btw, I heard this theory shortly after the rig exploded, so I don’t dismiss it entirely. I think its plausible. But we need to find a credible source of info that poses the theory.

  8. June 7, 2010 11:00 pm

    Yeah—a ‘credible source”—-wonder where we will find that? LOL
    You let me know if you see Jesus before I do….cause he would be the only source I know of that would not be corrupted or have an agenda to fulfill!

  9. June 8, 2010 5:34 am

    lol!

    lisa, I did see Jesus. I saw his image in the milk that splashed onto my cornflake this morning. 😉

  10. June 18, 2010 4:13 am

    Mirrors help the room appear larger, ideal for a small room in the house. They can also help to provide extra lighting in the room represents.
    Not only do you hold a big mirror. You can have several small mirrors and hang them together to create a wall feature.
    Mirrors can also add additional characters for the bedroom or living room of mirrors by adding decorative art.

Trackbacks

  1. Ticking Time Bomb found! 20 mile wide Gas Bubble discovered under Gulf of Mexico? « LisaInTX's Blog

Leave a Reply

