Skip to content

As Tragedy Unfolds on Gulf Coast, Are Americans Waking Up?

May 1, 2010

A dispersant plane passed over an oil skimmer in the Gulf of Mexico on Tuesday. Chemicals are a key tool in the fight against the spreading oil spill.

Have you off-shore drilling advocates woken up yet? I’ve been warning about the possibility of another Exxon Valdez, and voila… it happened. At first, I thought it was a good thing, before Obama got all giddy with the thought of extracting all that black gold from under our oceans. I figured this will put a stop to the foolishness and maybe even muzzle Sarah Palin and her “Drill, Baby, Drill” mantra.

But now I am just mortified and outraged that an accident of this magnitude has happened. I don’t care whose fault it is. We shouldn’t be risking our fragile ecosystem for the pursuit of fossil fuels. Period.

Weren’t we always told that water and oil don’t mix????

Once again I will repeat my mantra. Americans need to reduce their consumption of fossil fuels by 50%. If we are not willing to sacrifice our lifestyles and gross consumption, we will destroy our culture. Is that how we want to be judged by future inhabitants of this planet? Do we want to be forever known as the pigs of the past?

15 Comments leave one →
  1. themadjewess permalink
    May 1, 2010 11:55 am

    I wish I knew what happened here, there are already conspiracy wackos out there 😀 LOL

  2. May 2, 2010 5:36 am

    mj, I’m sure there are conspiracies and I am willing to guess that some of them are true. I have often thought that it would be fairly easy to sabotage the environment as a weapon; it’s already been done. Nuclear waste is very vulnerable to this.

    Did you hear about the car bomb in NY? Of course you did. It’s only a matter of time before something else happens. Next time, it might be successful. sigh

  3. Tex Taylor permalink
    May 3, 2010 11:10 am

    Have you off-shore drilling advocates woken up yet?

    This is incredibly dangerous work as the blown rig attests. If a commercial plane crashes into a neighborhood, should we ban commercial flights? Because that happens far more frequently than Exxon Valdez or BP. We’ll cap it, clean it up, and the earth will recover as it always does.

    You willing to be virtually beholden to those who will put you in a burka or pay $7.00 a gallon for gasoline with a steep decline in life style to ban off shore drilling? Because I can assure you, the rest of the world won’t be following suit.

    Alternative energy without nuclear is a pipe dream. Wind and solar simply can not generate even minimum gigawatt requirements. Neither is completely dependable. Lithium batteries of same size have approximately 1/80th of the power of a gallon of gasoline – and have their own eco problems to contend with. There’s a shortage of rare metals required for many alternative energies. I could go on, but the fantasy world liberals live in continues to astound me.

    These are but a few reasons why it is required to continue to drill off shore for oil.

  4. May 3, 2010 1:03 pm

    Tex, if I felt that telling you that you are absolutely right was true, I’d say it. But I think we need to wake up now when it is already too late and at least try to be sensible. Reducing consumption is the best way to wean ourselves from foreign oil and from our reliance on fossil fuels. There is no other way that will not doom us all. If you think we can afford any more accidents like this, I will debate the issue with you. I don’t think we can. You will be hard pressed to convince me. Go to Alaska and see how well they have recovered up there. Oh, and drop by the local hospitals and look at the obituaries while you’re at it. You may be elightened. Or maybe you already realize the risks, as you point out, and feel it is okay for local people who die from things like COPD as a result of an oil spill is just one of the unfortunate residual effects of our need to extract a toxin out from where it ought to stay, imo.

    And lumping me in with liberals is a little bit disingenuous, or maybe you really don’t know me very well. Well, why would I expect you to?

  5. Tex Taylor permalink
    May 3, 2010 1:46 pm

    Big Hips…

    It’s been twenty years since we even had an event of any magnitude for you ecological wackos to complain about offshore drilling. As bad as this event is, the Gulf of Mexico bleeds this much oil every day of the year from natural source leaks. Assuming BP gets this shut off fairly quickly, the tragedy is still manageable.

    Now I would agree we need to begin weaning ourselves from hydrocarbons and I try to be a good steward of God’s earth. But to think we shouldn’t exploit the natural resources God gave us to survive and thrive, is not only wrong headed but disingenuous IMO.

  6. May 3, 2010 2:01 pm

    Tex, I don’t have a problem with exploiting resources as long as they are managed sustainably. Trees for instance. I am all for wood but we need to keep lots of trees growing and in natural ways so we don’t create ecological disasters. Hell, I just bought a pair of wooden shoes yesterday at a fair. They were only $3 and I bought them for deco but I discovered today that they fit perfectly, they are comfortable, and they are quite classy too! They have a slick varnish so they are shiny. I am thinking of wearing them out and seeing if I can get away with it. I don’t see any reason not to as long as I don’t drive my manual transmission. That might be dangerous.

    Anyway, I diverge…

  7. redeemedhippiesplace permalink
    May 4, 2010 6:50 pm

    I do not believe it was an accident. Just my opinion.

  8. May 4, 2010 8:09 pm

    redeemed, you may be right, but what makes you think that? I hope they do find out who did it if indeed it was intentional.

  9. redeemedhippiesplace permalink
    May 7, 2010 4:11 pm

    rosehips, I believe there are plans to depopulate the planet. One way of doing that, is to create certain places where only people live, and the other places only agriculture. I heard today it could take “decades” to “fix it.” It would not surprise me if the government right now is making some kind of plan to evacuate and uproot as many people as they can to relocate them. I hope I am wrong. I get no pleasure in beliving some of the things I do. Time will tell if I am right or not. If this had happened under a republican government, I would still believe the same. My paranoia is no respector of politics. 🙂

  10. May 8, 2010 7:51 pm

    I hear you redeeemed. It really doesn’t matter who is in office. These thing happen. I’m not sure who would be trying to depopulate the planet. I think we all have a part in that. Every day it amazes me how some folk have no conception that there is even a problem. You see them in the checkout stands buying all the crap that is enslaving us all. When will humanity wake up?

  11. redeemedhippiesplace permalink
    May 9, 2010 6:53 pm

    Humanity will wake up when trouble comes knocking at THEIR door.

  12. May 9, 2010 7:30 pm

    I totally agree hippie.

  13. themadjewess permalink
    May 10, 2010 12:07 pm

    I am really upset over this Rose. I cannot stand seeing animals suffering

  14. themadjewess permalink
    May 10, 2010 12:09 pm

    We should write posts for the different animals and birds, this is making me SICK.

Leave a Reply

