Skip to content

Rush Limbaugh, Painkillers, Addiction… and Me

April 23, 2010

I never thought I’d see this day. It has been one week since I was convinced to go to the E.R. to check out my injuries resulting from a  “fall” that I had in the wee hours of last Thursday morning. I woke up on the floor, beneath a staircase, without any memory of how I got there.

Luckily, my bf, who I haven’t seen in over a month, has an alibi. He was in Mexico at the time of the alleged attack.

In case you don’t know about the “attack”, it just so happened that I was planning on going to the Spokane tea party rally that day and I put one and two together and HYPOTHESIZED that tea party operatives disabled me so I wouldn’t go and document their speeches. I have previously uncovered a plot by violent milia to overthrow our local tea party. But these are all other stories! The fact is that I can’t prove what got me knocked out and on the floor last week. Everything is pure speculation at this point.

But that is not the topic of this post. I am posting about painkillers and their addictive nature. We all know about Rush Limbaugh and how a legitimate prescription led to addiction. I actually don’t know the story all that well. But the beginning and ending are pretty textbook.

Which leads me to me (afterall, isn’t this the main focus of most of my posts?). I have never been prescribed pain meds before in my life. I am nimble-footed and as healthy as a horse. I’ve only been admitted to the hospital once in my life, when I ate “toadstools” as a 4-year-old. Talk about mind-bending! Again, another story.

I am astounded at how well this stuff works. I’m only on vicodan, which my son tells me are not that strong. I guess that depends on how many you take. I ran out of them on Wed. night and ended up in excruciating pain yesterday. I slogged my way over to the ER and they fixed my up with an even higher dose. But they are a bit stingey! I don’t even have enough to get me through the weekend. And that doctor was sly. I asked for a higher dose and he gave me one that was 25% stronger, but then suggested I take one instead of two pills every 4-6 hours!  Humph. Do I look stupid?

So now I have to go see a doctor to beg for more, and stronger, pain relief.

I am vehemently opposed to prescription drug abuse. I’ll tell you why. I lived in a very tiny community before I moved to my present location. There were less than 20 students in my youngest son’s class. One classmate allegedly started bringing oxycoton to school and selling it to fellow classmates, some as young as jr. high. It became epidemic. We had moved away already, but I asked my son’s friend how many in his class were involved with oxy. He counted 6, one-third of the class! Later, the same alleged student started dealing heroin to these same students. Kids living in the sticks, with nothing better to do. Some of these kids are the sons of my friends and the friends of my son! One student has died of an overdose, some have been busted for burglary. There are a handful of addicts. I know my sons would have been among those who did NOT get involved because they are educated to know the dangers of hard drugs. And let me tell you, some of those kids are from strict homes where drugs were barely even considered a threat. Not their kids!

Being on pain meds for my cracked ribs makes me understand better the addictive nature of painkillers. They do take the pain away and leave one with a warm, fuzzy feeling. It’s like I’m wrapped in sunshine and love, with no worries in the world except what the topic of my next blogpost will be. Oh life is so hard in these days of Obamacare….

One last thing to this already too long post. The situation with the ship that sunk off the coast of New Orleans is truly a nightmare happening as we speak. Don’t forget the Exxon Valdez, don’t forget the spill off of Australia, and don’t fool yourselves into thinking that expanding drilling won’t lead to more accidents. I will post about this sometime soon.

Ugh. This post is way too long! Just disregard and move on to the next.

 Thank you for reading, if you indeed did make it this far.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2010 7:22 pm

    Rose,
    Moral of the story girlfriend:
    Tape/wrap your ribs up, have a pillow close at hand to grab to your middle should you feel the need to cough and take Motrin and Tylenol instead. Use a heating pad and/or a rub on ointment to help ease the pain.
    Just trying to be helpful in your time of need—LOL

  2. April 23, 2010 7:27 pm

    Maybe the next time those elusive “Tea-partiers” allegedly attack you, they will be kind enough to at least leave you a script for the pain you might suffer later….LMAO—hahaha

  3. April 23, 2010 8:12 pm

    lisa, don’t make me laugh. It hurts. hahaha

    I got a new script that I call fill on Sunday, which is exactly what I wanted. I liked the doctor but she is not a pushover. She has grave reservations about my story of waking up at the bottom of the steps. She doesn’t believe it was from alcohol, as I was not drinking in excess of what I normally drink. She does want me to quit drinking, which I already have.

    She thinks there may be other factors in my “fall.” She wants me back next week and my lungs better not be “smoke-filled.” I have to do a nebulizing treatment 4X day! She thinks I have asthma, or something. I dunno….I think I just have a lot of secretions in my lung from the lung contusions, which they are now saying I have as well. geesh…

Leave a Reply

