Skip to content

Crushing News for You City Folk: Your Air Causes Childhood Asthma

April 21, 2010

This is disturbing, although not at all surprising. If you live in a city, or are subject to industrial pollution, or if your children are exposed to noxious fumes from gas-powered engines, you should be concerned.

Childhood asthma is a growing problem. A Dutch study just recently released shows us what, of course, we already know. Pollution causes asthma. And we all know how debilitating asthma can be.

I did an ireport about the lack of asthma in developing countries and a link drawn to the lack of hygiene in those places. Specifically, an article I cited pointed to hookworm, among other parasites, that is actually healthy for our immune systems.  If I get really ambitious, I’ll go get the link to my report. It’s interesting stuff, to say the least. Okay, I dug it up. Click here to see my ireport on “parasite therapy.”

Westernized culture is too sanitized. That is why we have problems like asthma, allergies, m.s., and other auto-immune diseases. Go to a third-world country and see how many of those diseases you encounter. Of course they have their own diseases, conditions, and pandemics to worry about.

Click here for article Children may develop asthma from breathing traffic-related air pollution from the Environmental Health News.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2010 2:08 pm

    I cannot FREAKIN’ believe it! I just fell again!

    My nurse and doctor indoctrinated in me to drink lots and lots of water. The nurse suggested 64 oz/per day. That’s considerable. So, consequently, I have to pee a lot.

    Right after I posted this, I jumped up from my computer to run to the bathroom. (I am feeling so much more chipper today. I am on the mend!) But my flip-flop got caught on a dang cord at my feet and tripped me up! I went crashing to the floor! Luckily, I took a pain pill my ribs are almost all healed up and I was nimble and my reflexes were spot on. I barely banged my knee and my hands caught my fall. I am so thankful that I was blessed with athleticism. What would become of me if I were a clutz?

  2. April 21, 2010 2:45 pm

    Rose
    Sounds like you are a deadly weapon, to yourself! LOL
    Hope you didn’t get hurt.

    I’m still nursing my wrist from my slam down on the pavement in the snake curve on my new bike. The black mamba was fine, but the driver was lucky she was wearing a motorcycle helmet or else I’d be walking around with a flattened cracked forehead!

  3. April 21, 2010 2:47 pm

    Here is a video that might help explain the allergies….I find them more the cause than air pollution, though I’m sure BOTH together are the main factors.

  4. April 21, 2010 2:53 pm

    lisa, you ARE very lucky you were wearing a helmet. Damn girl, I’m sure you told me this before but your bike’s name is Black Mamba? omg. my pal madjewess is gonna love you. haha

    I have taken to riding my bicycle without a helmet. After my fall and consequent amnesia, I am re-thinking whether vanity should trump safety. I certainly don’t need another head-banging. I may really black-out and end up G-d knows where!

  5. April 21, 2010 2:54 pm

    lisa, I watched the first minute of that vid. I love it! But I gotta go pee again….

  6. April 21, 2010 3:04 pm

    I saw her comment about Cass Sunstein…anyone that understands that man is a loon is a friend of mine. 🙂

    Yes, I named my bike the Black Mamba…hahahaaa…..though I may be trading her in for a four wheeler now….hahaha….maybe then I’ll make that snake curve the next time I go around it…heee
    I really hurt myself in that fall…messed up my wrist, arm, neck, back, leg, hip….nothing ‘broken’ that I know of, but the body parts don’t work like they did…(I have insurance, but did not see going to a doctor to complain that I hurt all over—they would only dope me out on pain meds and I can take Mortin for that and NOT risk addiction.)

  7. April 21, 2010 3:05 pm

    Make that Motrin….can’t spell…

  8. April 21, 2010 3:20 pm

    lisa, wow! Sounds like you are in the same shape as I am!

    Believe it or not, this was only the 5th time in my life (I almost forgot about my skiing mishaps) that I went to the emergency room or hospital.

    I am so against prescription drug abuse. This is actually the first time I have EVER, in my life, been prescribed pain medication. I’m almost out and good riddance. I had a transient come to my door and when he realized I was in extreme pain as I clutched my ribcage, I could see his wheels turning as he figured I had pain pills somewhere. But I ended up telling him that I refused any pain meds because I’m against them. Which is true, in a way. The transient’s eyes lit up and he asked me if I had a prescription. I told him no, I have seen what drugs like Oxy have done to the school where I used to work and I refused the doctor’s offer of pain meds. I said I think they are bad and I don’t want to get addicted. He acknowledged this, but seemed a bit disappointed. Or maybe my imagination got the best of me.
    My son informs me that my vicodan have little effect. Percodan are the kind to get. I wouldn’t know and don’t care. I used to have half a bottle of oxy left over from my son’s many surgeries. I never tried them once. Then they all disappeared. Wouldn’t you know. [Deleted] had a grand old time. geesh. I really shouldn’t say that. I’m only trying to embellish…it wasn’t my [delete], it was probably a friend of his who stole them.

  9. April 21, 2010 3:28 pm

    I’m sure [deleted] had a great trip and knows what [deleted] is talking about! LOL

    I can’t imagine a transient coming to my door?? Wow…lol…..I think they understand country folks and how we sometimes shoot first and ask questions later….lol…just kidding, but somewhat serious….hahahaha 😉

  10. April 21, 2010 3:38 pm

    lisa, If I was in my right mind, I wouldn’t have even opened the door! But, I had just banged my head and I actually wasn’t even drugged up. But I was in serious pain.
    Besides that, the weather has just gotten nice; 85 degrees yesterday! So this is the week to get outside and clean up the yard, etc. And my lawn was already too high! My oldest was on his way here from the coast, but that wasn’t soon enough, so I actually hired the transient! I know, I was freakin’ outta my gourd!

  11. April 21, 2010 3:40 pm

    Well, lisa…did I ever tell you the story about when I lived in the country and a MENTALLY ILL woman came onto our land? ohhh boy. Un-freakin’-beleavable!

Leave a Reply

