Skip to content

Natural Disaster, Climate Change, War, & Censorship

March 30, 2009

∞I highly recommend the book Collapse by Jared Diamond. I find amazing parallels to the Fargo/MN floods, Easter Island deforestation and resultant cannibalism, climate change, population, and the collapse of the Great Mayan Empire. I can also draw parallels to the current ireport blog wars, cnn censorship and subsequent banning of popular ireporters.

I hope you enjoy watching this video as much as I enjoyed making it.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2009 7:00 pm

    For some reason I can’t get videos from youtube to come up on my computer. And speaking of ireports, did you see VF’s comment “iWhine”
    she is so funny! But, thats what they remind me of, a bunch of whiners. They wanted censorship and some people to be banned, but are now in an uproar because it bit them in the butt and they realize they could be next. They got what they asked for.

  2. April 2, 2009 4:27 pm

    hi rose,

    this book is written as we speak.

    Robert Kiyosaki of Rich Dad, Poor Dad – the money guru for the masses, has already finished 4 chapters of the new book on the new financial strategies we need to be educated on.

    Read it now and let everyone know about it. It’s online and free, you just need to log on:

    http://www.conspiracyoftherich.com/about

  3. m2elena permalink
    April 4, 2009 12:09 pm

    OMG Rose, does it really talk about Easter Island! I studied that place randomly last Spring, I just picked this amazing book up at the library of Greatest Mysteries… So of course Easter Island was in it. It is SO EERIE.

    They used all the logs for their boats and for their statues (with the glowing eyes), and then had no resources to escape the island, ate each other… I can’t remember.. the rest. It was just so creepy.

  4. April 4, 2009 12:15 pm

    m2, yeah, I never studied Easter Island before so found it intriguing. Collapse is amazing. Maybe it’s because I’m an anthropologist, but the discoveries from past civilizations is so powerful. The book studies Polynesian islands, the Maya, the Bitterroot Valley in Montana…I’m now reading about the Vikings. I’m not even half way through the book yet. We can learn so much from the mistakes of past civilizations. I don’t think we are really willing to accept what we need to do, however.

  5. m2elena permalink
    April 5, 2009 12:27 am

    Wow, anthropologist! That’s cool.
    The vikings… I just pictures them as hunky men. A civilization of hunky men should never die out.

    Though I guess they did rape, pillage and slaughter…. Hmmmm moral dilemma.

  6. woodfoe permalink
    April 6, 2009 3:40 pm

    Hi rose,
    The study of everything. Did you ever see that show where they showed the cause and effect of how everything effected everything else. Weird! Haven’t read the book, so I can’t comment, just wanted to scribble all over your blog.:) Kinda like signing a cast. TTFN.

  7. April 7, 2009 2:28 pm

    woodfoe, I am very moved by your story. You are some writer and it sounds like you have overcome many challenges. Thanks so much for sharing. I can understand why you didn’t want such a personal story to be “on cnn”.

  8. April 7, 2009 2:41 pm

    woodfoe, I don’t think I saw that show, but this is one of my very fav ireports of mine that is about interconnectedness. http://www.ireport.com/docs/DOC-180902

  9. highplainsgirl permalink
    April 11, 2009 3:17 pm

    m2elena, I found an article about the Easter Islanders and the … Henderson Islanders, I think, and it talked about their warfare and how they cut every last living tree down, ate all the birds on the island, and then had no way to survive… yuck. It freaked me out to the point that I wanted to write a sci fi book on that premise, like in a space ship (sorta like the Rama stories) except in the end everyone was dead. But people don’t like sci fi stories that are total downers, so I moved on to other ideas…

    the next one being a story about a woman in Ireland who gets taken for a slave by the Vikings. In the end she goes into the funeral pyre with her captor. The story would be about the inner workings of her mind and why a slave would choose such a path in life. I still plan to write that one.

  10. highplainsgirl permalink
    April 11, 2009 3:18 pm

    ..let me clarify… I don’t mean the slave chooses to be a slave, but rather chooses to go up in flames with her dead Viking captor.

  11. April 11, 2009 3:24 pm

    wow, high…great story idea! Have you read the book “Collapse”? Besides Easter Island (and the other islands within trading distance), the author writes about the Anazasi, the Maya, the Vikings and more. It would be excellent background info for your book, although it deals mainly with the Vikings who settled in Greenland.

  12. highplainsgirl permalink
    April 11, 2009 3:53 pm

    I read it a few years ago, and I really liked it.

Leave a Reply

