Skip to content

The Oinking of America

March 24, 2009
The Oinking of America

The Oinking of America

 Check out my youtube video on this subject. You’ll love it! 

Lately I hear a lot of people defending Americans’ right to make as much money as they can. It’s the American Dream. But that dream comes at a cost. The more wealth amassed, the more people consume. Americans make up 5% of the world’s population, but consume 24% of its energy. That’s disgusting! Americans are PIGS! Talk about Pigzilla. The American Dream is the real PIGZILLA. Listen to the cacophony!

This is from mindfully.org:

  Americans constitute 5% of the world’s population but consume 24% of the world’s energy.

  On average, one American consumes as much energy as

2 Japanese
6 Mexicans
13 Chinese
31 Indians
128 Bangladeshis
307 Tanzanians
370 Ethiopians

 

 

 

17 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2009 10:00 pm

    Kewl!!!!!!!

  2. rosehips permalink*
    March 24, 2009 10:01 pm

    I like the washers! thank you voting female. you are very kind and a good friend. 🙂

  3. March 24, 2009 10:20 pm

    You are very welcome Dear!!!
    That’s what friends are for…

  4. March 24, 2009 10:21 pm

    love!! the piggie video! tee-hee

    oink oink grunt squeal!!!

  5. March 24, 2009 10:23 pm

    just a quickie check in; dinner prep is under way…

  6. March 25, 2009 3:06 pm

    Rose
    Very CUTE piggies…hahahaaa….the video was very cute too and I left a comment on your video. :-}
    American’s are VERY wasteful indeed. But then again, we now live in a ‘throw” away era, where in most cases it is cheaper to buy new, than to fix something old/worn out. Take TV’s for example….a picture tube replacement + labor, costs MORE than a brand new TV…..so what do people do usually?? Go buy a new set.

  7. March 25, 2009 3:08 pm

    BTW: I see an avatar of “berries” next to your ID on THIS report??

  8. mimi2009 permalink
    March 25, 2009 4:26 pm

    hi gals… for a while there Americans kinda lived in a bubble huh??? and this gave great clearance to the government to plan the nastiest scheme.

    rose.. go figure.. Jane’s account was reactivated withing 10 minutes??? strange.. looks like she is highly connected..lol

  9. java66 permalink
    March 25, 2009 9:23 pm

    I agree rosehips, we are a very wasteful country. With everything.
    I know too many people who won’t even take the time to recycle. People leave their cars running in the store parking lot with the airconditioner running, just so the car will be cool when they come out. It is disgusting.

  10. mimimimi2009 permalink
    March 26, 2009 4:24 am

    rose… on mu last ireport http://www.ireport.com/docs/DOC-234288 you will notice comments from a new reporter (sunshineSue)my guess is that she is JaneinMaine or one of her ganag and acting dumb on my post… this new reporter came out of nowhere and she posted comments only on my report??? pls write some comments there on top of this fake. (maybe you can write to sunshinesue to take her head out of her a$$ as this info is all over the alternative media and with some sporadic presence in mainstreem so she should stop the innocent, tree-hugger) thanks. mimi

  11. arlenearmy permalink
    March 26, 2009 8:11 pm

    Oh no no no .. this household wants the money. Nothing’s wrong in being selfish.

  12. arlenearmy permalink
    March 26, 2009 8:14 pm

    Why are the avator much bigger in this blog than it is on VF’s ? Its ok … I like it, but was just wondering if something is wrong w/my browser again.

  13. arlenearmy permalink
    March 26, 2009 8:53 pm

    Im laughing so hard til tears rolling down my eyes. My side is hurting from laughter. I went to your youtube video. My hubby was sleeping in his chair & heard that pig noise. He woke up & said “what the hell is that.. what’s going on ?”.

    Sorry rose… I cant help.. but you should had seen the way he woke up. I don’t know if it shook him up or what. Oh lord … I told him to go back to sleep.

  14. java66 permalink
    March 27, 2009 11:32 pm

    Rosehips, I’m sending you a pm on ireports.

  15. karmahd permalink
    March 28, 2009 3:15 am

    Well I am 6:3 and 275 lbs I consume for two Americans or 364 people from Bangladesh… No I am a good little power saver, like the pictures

  16. woodfoe permalink
    April 7, 2009 2:09 pm

    Here’s an ireport I did on the American dream and what it means to me. It got 835 views and I got a call to have it put on CNN but I turned them down.

    I would suppose that the American dream is something different for every American. However the ability to achieve your dream has become more difficult in recent years. For those who want to pursue college , loans have replaced grants, and the GI bill doesn’t allow military personnel to attend college. Our primary and secondary schools are failing a large number of students not only in academia but in self enrichment in general.

    For those who want to get a job out of high school, get married and raise a family, jobs and the economy are a big issue right now. Owning your own home is a big problem for many Americans. There are people with college degrees and even master degrees who don’t own their own home. Especially in large cities.

    Is the American spirit still alive? Most definitely.

    The realization of my American dream came about not by choice but by fate. About twenty five years ago I was stricken with a debilitating illness in the middle of college. Unable to work or go back to school I went to live with my mother. Over the course of the years I’ve had a lot of time to reflect and grow as a person. These years have definitely not been wasted. With a lot of introspection, reading and experience dealing with other people, I’ve come to realize one important thing. I have come to develop a deep and profound gratitude for the men and women, going back to the founding of this nation, who have given their lives defending this country so I can have the freedom to go out to any book store and pull off the self, or order the book of my choosing. In doing so I’m able to expand my mind through the sheer joy of discovery of the greatest literature that history and the world has to offer. To me breaking the shackles of ignorance, psychological, emotional, and spiritual bondage in order to shoot for the stars has been a journey and adventure beyond my previous imagination. I can pick up a book and see the world through the eyes of a poet. I can pick up a self help book and become aware of the parent-adult-child dynamic aspect of my psychology. I can read great minds the likes of St. Augustine, Martin Luther, Kahlil Gibran, Socrates. I can read about great men and women in history. The mere fact that I have this, too often taken for granted, freedom to read whatever I want to and to grow as a person as a result, I think is the American dream that not only our fore fathers envisioned for us but also the Creator of certain unalienable Rights of life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. I started off going to college to become a successful professional, maybe raise a family. Aquire all the material wealth associated with success. Not to diminish that avenue, because it is an avenue in which all roads lead to Rome, at least in my opinion. By fate I simply took a different route. My way of giving back has been to try and bridge relationships in family, friends, and society. I’m only one person and the are six billion people in the world. If I can do the small part that I was meant to do, then I have not only lived the American dream, but have been a success as well. For me the American dream is alive, I only hope we continue to nurture an America that allows freedom and prosperity for all so that the American dream can be truely realized.

    One final footnote about the American dream. I think too many people chase the almighty dollar to acquire material wealth as an end in itself and that’s where I think so many people are experiencing a growing epidemic of depression. I think if people were more service oriented, easier for some than others, they would be happier and less depressed. Service, meaning giving back to society, being altruistic, instead of just what’s in it for me.

  17. April 7, 2009 2:36 pm

    don’t know how my response got on the other post, but i’m reposting:

    woodfoe, I am very moved by your story. You are some writer and it sounds like you have overcome many challenges. Thanks so much for sharing. I can understand why you didn’t want such a personal story to be “on cnn”.

Leave a Reply

