Skip to content

National Rainbow Gathering 2010 in Allegheny National Forest, PA

June 26, 2010

I used to go to a lot of Rainbow Gatherings in my youth. The national “Gathering of the Tribes” is held the first week of July each year in a National Forest. The location changes each year and is usually held in a different state. Unfortunately, not all states have National Forests so many states have had multiple gatherings over the years. The first official national Rainbow Gathering was held in Colorado in the early 70′s. There are regional gatherings held in other states and countries throughout the year.

In 2008 I went to the Wyoming Gathering, my first in 21 years. Both my sons were there too. We had a blast. It is all free and it’s all about sharing what you have with others. It’s a cultural phenomenon and its all done with the greatest respect to “Mother Nature.” The impact of sometimes tens of thousands of rainbow brothers and sisters can be significant but the teams of people who stay behind to remediate the damage is unprecedented. Ask the Forest Service.

The Gatherings are not without drama and controversy. Every year the Government sends in “the troops”, armed enforcement officers to terrorize the “natives.” Apparently they don’t like us exercising our constitutional rights to gather on government land. Well, too bad. We know our rights and they hate that they can’t prevent us from gathering.

I won’t be able to attend the Pennsylvania Gathering this year. I am going to my 35th high school reunion later on in July. I’m sure there will be some good tales to tell from anyone who attends. If you are looking for info on how to get there and what to bring, click here. Remember to tread lightly and carpool. Or better yet, maybe stay home and go to a Regional Gathering. There is one near Usk, WA the last week of August.

The pics are from the 2008 Rainbow Gathering of the Tribes held in the Bridger-Teton National Forest in Wyoming. If I get ambitious, I can dig up some old pics from the old days and scan them to add to these more current photos. I have pics of me when I was in my early 20′s. I looked like a frickin’ toothpick. Damn, I wish I was young again. haha

Click here for my latest post on the Rainbow Gathering.

         

                                                                                                                                                                                    

8 Comments leave one →
  1. redeemedhippiesplace permalink
    June 26, 2010 12:21 pm

    Sounds kind of fun, if it weren’t for all the left over hippies. :D

  2. June 26, 2010 12:36 pm

    lol, hippie. They could be worse. They could be left over nazis. hehe

  3. ghislaine permalink
    July 24, 2010 10:11 pm

    do u know how ill be in contact with the people going to niagara falls on the school bus?

  4. July 26, 2010 3:27 pm

    ghis, sure don’t. Try putting a listing on craigslist. Maybe someone will read it.

  5. ghislaine permalink
    July 28, 2010 8:58 am

    does any body know where is the school bus going from rainbow gathering pensylvania june 2010 to niagara falls . whashington DC and final destination LA IF I CAN CONTACT ANY BODY with some informations thank you so much

  6. July 28, 2010 9:42 am

    again, try craigslist. Where are you from? do you need help with that?

Trackbacks

  1. 2010 in review « Tons_of_wash's Spin-cycle

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.